Committee of Insurance, Securities
and Non-Banking Financial Authorities





Botswana is a completely landlocked country in the centre of Southern Africa. One of Southern Africa’s longest rivers, the Okavango, flows into the north-western part of the country, forming the UNESCO World Heritage Site Okavango Delta. Botswana shares borders with South Africa, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe.The country covers an area of about 582,000 sq.km² and is relatively flat, at roughly 900 metres above sea level, with gentle undulations and occasional rocky outcrops.

The Non-Bank Financial Institutions Regulatory Authority

Head of Authority: Mr Oduetse Motshidisi

Sectors being Supervised: Capital Markets, Insurance, Medical Aids, Retirement Funds and Lending Activities which include pawnshops. The Authority also ensures that the NBFI sector complies with local and international obligations for Anti-Money Laundering and Combatting the Financing of Terrorism & Proliferation (AML/CFT&P)

The Committee of Insurance, Securities and Non-Banking Financial Authorities (CISNA) was established in 1998, pursuant to Annexure 10 of the SADC Protocol on Finance and Investment as a committee of authorities responsible for the supervision of insurance, securities, and non-banking financial institutions (NBFI) in SADC Member States. CISNA is part of the Directorate of Finance, Investment and Customs of the SADC Secretariat and reports to the SADC Committee of Ministers of Finance and Investment through the Committee of Senior Treasury Officials.

Contact Us

Connect With Us

Copyright © 2022 CISNA. All Rights Reserved