Committee of Insurance, Securities
and Non-Banking Financial Authorities




General Council

The General Council comprises all Member Authorities. Each Member Authority to be represented by the head of a Member Authority, (or a senior executive as may be delegated). 

The General Council is chaired by the CISNA Chairperson who is elected by the General Council every two years, as per the CISNA Rules. In fulfilling the CISNA functions and objectives, the CISNA Chairperson is assisted by the Vice Chairperson and members of the Governance Council.

The General Council is the apex decision-making structure of CISNA that meets annually as per the CISNA Rules to decide on, amongst others, on the following:

  1. to amend the Rules;
  2. adopt principles, standards, and guidance developed by CISNA;
  3. adopt the strategy and policy of CISNA;
  4. approve the annual budget, membership fees and admission fees;
  5. approve the CISNA Annual Report;
  6. sanction Member Authorities;
  7. approve the CISNA Annual Report;
  8. decide upon the manner in which the General Council conduct its affairs; and
  9. decide on any other matter governing the business and affairs of CISNA or any other decision as may be required from time to time.

The General Council must, as and when required, report to the Committee of Ministers of Finance and Investments through the SADC Secretariat.



Mr Kenneth Simataa Matomola

Namibia Financial Institutions Supervisory Authority


Vice Chairperson

Dr. Grace Muradzikwa

Insurance and Pensions Commission



Member StateMember Authorities

1.            Angolan Agency for Insurance Regulation and Supervision

2.            Capital Markets Commission


3.            Non-Bank Financial Institutions Regulatory Authority
4.            Ministry of Finance and Economic Development
5.            Ministry of Investment, Trade and Industry – Department for Co-operative Development

Democratic Republic of Congo

6.            Autorité de Régulation et de Contrôle des Assurances
7.            Banque Centrale du Congo

Eswatini8.            Financial Services Regulatory Authority
Lesotho9.            Central Bank of Lesotho
Malawi10.         Reserve Bank of Malawi
Mauritius11.         Financial Services Commission

12.         Bank of Mozambique
13.         Insurance Supervisory Institute of Mozambique

Namibia14.         Namibia Financial Institutions Supervisory Authority
Seychelles15.         Financial Services Authority
South Africa

16.         Council for Medical Schemes
17.         Financial Sector Conduct Authority
18.         Prudential Authority


19.         Tanzania Insurance Regulatory Authority
20.         The Capital Markets and Securities Authority


21.         Securities and Exchange Commission
22.         Pensions and Insurance Authority
23.         Bank of Zambia


24.         Insurance and Pensions Commission
25.         The Securities and Exchange Commission of Zimbabwe
26.         Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe

The Committee of Insurance, Securities and Non-Banking Financial Authorities (CISNA) was established in 1998, pursuant to Annexure 10 of the SADC Protocol on Finance and Investment as a committee of authorities responsible for the supervision of insurance, securities, and non-banking financial institutions (NBFI) in SADC Member States. CISNA is part of the Directorate of Finance, Investment and Customs of the SADC Secretariat and reports to the SADC Committee of Ministers of Finance and Investment through the Committee of Senior Treasury Officials.

Copyright © 2022 CISNA. All Rights Reserved