Committee of Insurance, Securities
and Non-Banking Financial Authorities




Insurance and Retirement Funds, Medical Schemes and Intermediaries Sub-Committee (IRMIS)

The IRMIS has been setup pursuant to Article 13 (4) of the Protocol on Finance and Investment and Paragraph 11.1(a) of the CISNA Rules.

The purpose of the IRMIS is to address sector specific issues to ensure achievement of the objects of CISNA.

The mandate of the IRMIS is to execute the objects of CISNA as defined in paragraph 2 of the CISNA Rules and in particular to promote harmonisation of legislation and supervisory frameworks in insurance, retirement fund, medical schemes and intermediary sectors.

The IRMIS shall consist of a minimum of five and a maximum of nine members, elected by the General Council in accordance with Paragraph 12 of the CISNA Rules.

The current composition of the IRMIS is as follows:


Ms Namakau Mundia Ntini

Pensions and Insurance Authority



Mr Cuthbert Tafirei Munjoma

Insurance and Pensions Commission



Ms Lovisa Indongo-Namandje

Namibia Financial Institutions Supervisory Authority (NAMFISA)


Mr Mandla Magubane

Prudential Authority

South Africa

Mr Andile Mjadu

Financial Sector Conduct Authority

South Africa



Mr Samwel Elias Mwiru

Tanzania Insurance Regulatory Authority


Ms Veronica Namate

Non-Bank Financial Institutions Regulatory Authority



Ms Duduzile Vilane

Financial Services Regulatory Authority


The Committee of Insurance, Securities and Non-Banking Financial Authorities (CISNA) was established in 1998, pursuant to Annexure 10 of the SADC Protocol on Finance and Investment as a committee of authorities responsible for the supervision of insurance, securities, and non-banking financial institutions (NBFI) in SADC Member States. CISNA is part of the Directorate of Finance, Investment and Customs of the SADC Secretariat and reports to the SADC Committee of Ministers of Finance and Investment through the Committee of Senior Treasury Officials.

Copyright © 2022 CISNA. All Rights Reserved