Committee of Insurance, Securities
and Non-Banking Financial Authorities






The Governance Council consists of 11 members comprising (1) eight members as elected by the General Council and (2) the Chairpersons of the three Sub-Committees. 

The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of CISNA chair both the General Council and the Governance Council.

A representative of the SADC Secretariat attends the CISNA Governance Council meetings as an observer.

The Governance Council, subject to the general direction of the General Council, must –

(a) execute the decisions of the General Council;

(b) oversee the operations of CISNA;

(c) direct and oversee the operations of the CISNA Secretariat; and

(d) oversee the recruitment of the Secretary General and other staff for the CISNA Secretariat in accordance with the directions from the General Council.

The main functions of the Governance Council include:

  1. Formulating CISNA’s strategic objectives and monitor implementation thereof;
  2. Recommending initiatives for building the internal capability to ensure that CISNA is able to successfully execute on its mandate;
  3. Producing regular reports on the status of implementation of the CISNA strategic plan (with recommendations);
  4. Producing regular progress reports on the status of implementation of its activities;
  5. Producing Annual Reports on the performance of the NBFI sector in the SADC region (covering all relevant sub-sectors); and
  6. Carrying-out any other relevant initiatives as may be directed from time to time by General Council.


Mr Kenneth Simataa Matomola

Namibia Financial Institutions Supervisory Authority



Dr Grace Muradzikwa

Insurance and Pensions Commission



Ms Diana Sichalwe-Sichone

The Securities and Exchange Commission


Mr Ncamiso Ntshalintshali

Financial Services Regulatory Authority


Ms Sonia Lukama

Autorité de Régulation et de Contrôle des Assurances

Dem. Rep. of Congo

Ms Felicity Mabaso

Financial Sector Conduct Authority

South Africa

Ms Grace Berejena

Securities and Exchange Commission


Mr Herlânder S. A. Diogo

Capital Markets Commission


Mr Simbarashe Mashonganyika

Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe


Ms Namakau Mundia Ntini

Pensions and Insurance Authority


The Committee of Insurance, Securities and Non-Banking Financial Authorities (CISNA) was established in 1998, pursuant to Annexure 10 of the SADC Protocol on Finance and Investment as a committee of authorities responsible for the supervision of insurance, securities, and non-banking financial institutions (NBFI) in SADC Member States. CISNA is part of the Directorate of Finance, Investment and Customs of the SADC Secretariat and reports to the SADC Committee of Ministers of Finance and Investment through the Committee of Senior Treasury Officials.

Contact Us

Connect With Us

Copyright © 2022 CISNA. All Rights Reserved